RSS Feed

Angel Eyes Angel Food Cake, or, The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly Weeknight Dessert

Posted on

Do you have a favorite Spaghetti Western?  No, I don’t mean pasta with BBQ(though it sounds kind of yummy, that would probably be Western Spaghetti)!  I’m talking about those gritty, visually breathtaking films, made by Italians, starring Americans, filmed in Spain!  Many will tell you that the best of the genre is Fistful of Dollars, but in my book the winner has to be The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly.  Clint (The Good) does his usual fab thing, sharpshooting Eli Wallach(The Ugly) down from the gallows just in time; the theme music is positively iconic; the setting and scenery will take your breath away.  But the thing that I love most, that I cannot possibly look away from on the screen? The Bad: Lee VanCleef.  His cheekbones.  His subtle and not-so-subtle expressions.  His eyes.  So unique that they actually named his character for them:  Angel Eyes.

If that film could translate into a dessert, I think it might be something like this cake  It is my go at this month’s #baketogether, and the result is truly Good, Bad, AND Ugly.Image

THE GOOD

Every month, Abby Dodge posts a recipe on her blog, inviting the world to try it, morph it, spin it and SHARE IT via blog, facebook, or twitter(hashtag #baketogether).  April’s offering?  Angel Food Cake. Here is Abby’s cake.  I decided to try a slightly Mexican/tropical spin on this one, due to the fact that I happened to have on hand a batch of cajeta, a Mexican caramel sauce made from goat’s milk.  That’s right friends.  Goat’s milk. Now, don’t make a face.  It’s not only for tangy cheese, you know.  My cajeta included a dash of Licor 43 and some Mexican cinnamon, and it’s beyond yummy. Abby’s inspiration?  Good.  My cajeta? Also good.  My concept was to spike the basic cake with a coconut flavor,top with grilled and slightly carmelized pineapple, my cajeta, and shaved coconut.

THE BAD

Don’t worry, it’s not THAT bad.  But if I were to make this cake over again, I would change the way I flavored the cake itself.  I used a coconut extract, and something about the finished cake reminded me of either Malibu Rum or Hawaiian Tropic suntan oil. A little bit too Jersey Shore on both counts– Not exactly what I was going for.  So:  Beware coconut extract!  Instead I would probably toast up some of that unsweetened coconut and whizz it through a coffee bean/spice grinder and sift it with the dry ingredients.  Live and Learn.

THE UGLY

The finished product was not actually ugly!  I think it rocked!  I went with the whole 1950’s vibe to Angel Food Cake and preceded it with a homey dinner of meatloaf with mushroom gravy, buttered noodles and spinach.  I thought it was perfect! Image

The kids, however, had their own garnishing ideas.   Here is where it gets ugly.  Viewer discretion is advised.

Image

Credits:  Starring The Goat,  The Egg White, and the Pineapple.  Directed by Nancy Gardiner and shot entirely on location in my kitchen.  Technical Support/Props by my mom(it was her cake pan). Thanks to Executive Producer  Abby Dodge.

No animals were harmed in the making of this cake.

About nancy

If I weren't a floral designer, I'd be a pastry chef,or maybe a hairstylist. See, I like using really sharp implements to transform good stuff into great stuff.

3 responses »

  1. Hmmm. . .two readers have mentioned comments aren’t working for them. I made sure my settings are as they should be, so folks, please comment at will, let’s see how it goes. My blogging skills may have fallen into that “Gray Area”–a bouquet to anyone who gets that reference and leaves correct response in the comments section 😉

    Reply
  2. THis looks greaT! YUM!

    Reply

Talk to me!

